Planning is a tab within the Resources module that enables project managers and resource managers to allocate resources across multiple projects, both ongoing and planned. By default, the Planning screen displays Group by Resources, but you can also customize the grouping according to your preferences by choosing Group by Project or Job role (to read more about groupings, refer to the Planning - groupings article).
The primary uses of the Planning screen are:
- Schedule allocations for both unnamed resources and users manually
- Auto-generate allocations based on scheduled hours
- Set soft and hard allocations
- Manage allocated and scheduled hours
- Review the availability of resources
- Find candidates to replace unnamed resources
- Use AI to compare skills and availability to find the best matches
- Track overscheduled hours
- To access the Planning screen, the "Access resource planning" global permission is required.
- To create/edit/delete hard allocations in the Planning screen, the "Manage hard allocations" global permission is required.
- To create/edit/delete soft allocations, the "Manage & add members" permission is required in the project permissions.
The Planning tab consists of three main components:
- Custom columns that can be added or removed
- Gantt-like field with a Daily, Weekly and Monthly granularity
- Header with a date range, granularity selector, filters and controls, such as the Show, Sort and Columns selectors.
- From the upper right corner, you can also access the legend for the Gantt area.
- Expand/collapse all items by using in the heading row
- Add/hide any columns by simply clicking Columns in the upper right corner
- Sort and freeze added columns
- Apply filters for projects and resources. Some filters are added by default. You can also add additional filters by clicking . To cancel applied filters click .
- Use the Show option to customize the screen according to your preferences