Note: This feature is only available in the Enterprise version of the product.
Locked time entries are ones that cannot be edited or deleted.
When a time entry is locked, its status is changed to 'Locked'. It can be checked out on the 'History' tab in Time Log.
Unlocking an entry requires making it neither billed, nor approved. It is done by editing the entry in Time Log as described here.